Big changes to California Hotel and Lodging Association board


The California Hotel & Lodging Association’s (CHLA) 2020 board of directors has been elected.

In its annual meeting at the Claremont Club and Spa, Berkeley, the CHLA appointed six new members while a further 12 current members were given renewed contracts.

The CHLA is the largest state lodging industry association in the US.

Story continues below

The new appointments are: Bijal Patel (vice president, Coast Redwood Hospitality) as board chair, Michael Pace (general manager, InterContinental Mark Hopkins) as past chair, and James Lim (general manager, Omni San Francisco Hotel) will take the role of secretary/treasurer.

Tom Patton, CHA (general manager/partner, Ramada Santa Barbara), Druhv Patel (president and COO, Ridgemont Hospitality) and Todd Hersperger (vice president, Sunstone Hotel Investors) will also join.

Renewed members are as follows: Bhupen Amin (Lotus Hotels & Investments), Javier Cano (JW Marriott at L.A. LIVE), Vipul Dayal (Days Inn San Francisco Airport West), James Lim, CHA (Omni San Francisco Hotel), RJ Mayer, Jr. (The Robert Mayer Corporation), Pragna Patel-Mueller (Samata Management, Inc.), Laurenne Douglas (Pacific Plaza Hotels), Paul Gibbs, CHA (Crowne Plaza LAX), Jon Handlery, CHA (Handlery Hotels, Inc.), Hee Won Lim (Pacific Palms Hotel), John Spear (Hotel Drisco), Scott VandenBerg (Hyatt Regency Sacramento).

Looking to the future, president and CEO Lynn S. Mohrfeld said: “Our board’s diversity and reinvestment into the lodging industry keeps us looking ahead to challenges of the future, while ensuring we address the pressing issues of today. I am excited to see how CHLA’s board and members can shape 2020.”

Tags : board membersCalifornia Hotel and Lodging AssociationCHLAnew appointments
Sam Lewis

The author Sam Lewis

Leave a Response